The Countdown is on… Travelling to Europe in 3 Days

In three days I leave for Europe where I will be travelling for three weeks. Typically I have everything planned out, I have already done a trial run (or two) packing my suit case, and have even packed snacks for the long flight. However, this time things have gone a bit differently. Work is crazy (company mergers, an office relocation, change in responsibilities, etc.) and I just have not been able to find the energy for all of my normal preparations.

Right now I’m sitting surrounded by tour books and computer printouts with Evernote open going through all of my options trying to decide where exactly I want to go. My bed is completely covered by clothing and electronics as I go back and forth trying to decide what goes because I am determined to fit everything into the smallest suitcase I own. Basically everything is chaos and I do not feel ready or relaxed, which are two things I like to do before leaving for a trip like this.

Don’t get me wrong, I like to leave myself a lot of flexibility so I can make decisions as I go, but I like to have done enough research and planning so that I already know all of my options, and I like to know that I have everything I need so I don’t waste time searching for things in unfamiliar cities (often with labels all in unfamiliar languages).

On the upside, most of my struggle has been because there are just too many things that I want to see. I mean how in the world do you decide what to do with just 3 weeks in Europe? Once I am back I will be posting a number of new stories about my travels to Germany, Belgium, the Netherlands, Denmark and maybe even Sweden depending on how things go.

How much planning/preparation do you do before a trip like this? And do you have any suggestions for must do activities in this part of Europe?

Love, Lee

~ by loveleeeee on September 10, 2011.

What do you think?

 
