Somewhere New or Somewhere Loved?

Should I go somewhere that I have never been and experience all new things or

should I go somewhere that I have already been and know that I love?

I think this is a questions that most travelers have asked themselves at least once, and it is a good question with pros and cons on each side. On one hand how can you go back to a place you have already been when there are new places that you haven’t yet seen? But on the other hand, I already know I love this place what if the new place isn’t as good? There are people out there who aim to see all of the countries in the world and people who will travel to the same country year after year because they went there once and loved it. I fall somewhere in the middle. I don’t think that you can truly get the feel for a place in one visit unless you are there for a few months, so there is an argument for going back if you really enjoyed it, but didn’t feel you got to experience everything. However, there are also so many new places that I want to go see that I often think how can I justify going back to this city when there are hundreds of other new cities I want to see.

For those of you that don’t know me, I live in Australia, but my family lives in the US, so when I heard that they would be traveling to Germany my first thought was that is a great place to meet. However, once I starting thinking about it later, I started questioning this – I have already been to Germany and most of the surrounding countries, and there are so many Asian countries that are closer that I haven’t yet seen. In the end, I decided to go back to Europe rather than somewhere in Australia or Asia.

I will be staying longer than my family and plan on visiting a few countries that I have not been to before (Denmark and Sweden), but the time with my family will mainly be spent in Germany, Belgium and the Netherlands. I was in Germany in 2000, travelled to Belgium with some of my family in 2006, but neither me nor my family have been to the Netherlands yet. This has made the planning interesting.

For Belgium we know what we saw before and wanted to see again, what we want to see this time because we missed the last time and regretted it, and what we saw last time and definitely don’t want to see again. I was talking to Mom yesterday and we were saying things like “I have to go back to that chocolate shop” or “How in the world did we miss the tower in Brugge, we have to see it this time” and “Do you remember that little restaurant with the fireplace that was so good? We have to go back there”. These memories makes the planning more fun and I am starting to get very excited. On the other hand we are trying to decide where in the Netherlands we want to go and what we want to see and it has been a bit more of a struggle. We don’t know anything: how long it takes to get from X to Y, what the neighbourhood is like where we are staying, if the sights are worth seeing, etc., but to me this is also exciting. I enjoy getting lost in a new city, finding hidden surprises that you weren’t expecting, and seeing everything for the first time.

What do you think? Is it better to go somewhere new or somewhere loved?

Love, Lee

~ by loveleeeee on July 28, 2011.

What do you think?

 
