The Nepalese Peace Pagoda

I love wandering around and getting lost in new cities – you never know who or what you may find. While wondering in Brisbane I found myself at Southbank – an overly touristed area complete with its own inland beach right beside the river. I quickly decided to move on, but thankfully instead of simply turning around and heading back the way I came I decided to keep going, which is when I stumbled on this….

A Nepalese Peace Pagoda right in the middle of everything at Southbank in Brisbane… A bit of research later told me that it was built for the 1988 World Expo as part of the Nepalese Pavilion, and it is the only international exhibit from the Expo that still remains. Apparently, it is the only example of a Nelalese temple in Australia.

The decorations were so detailed – its amazing anyone had the patience to create these carvings.

Moral of the Story: Always find time to get lost in a new city – you never know what you may find!

Love, Lee

~ by loveleeeee on May 22, 2011.

What do you think?

 
