Tasmania’s National Parks

Tasmania has some fantastic national parks. A park pass allows entry to all national parks in Tasmania and helps fund the upkeep which keeps their parks so nice. Due to time constraints and so much rain that half the island flooded, I only made it to a few of the national parks, but I definitely plan on making it back to Tasmania and allowing for plenty of time to explore them all.

Southwest National Park

Southwest National Park is home to Cockle Creek – the southern most part of Tasmania accessible by roads. You can’t quite see Antarctica, but you can imagine it is right there, just out of sight. It is a pretty easy drive from Hobart to Southwest, and Hastings Caves and Thermal Springs are on the way.

Mt Field National Park

Mt Field National Park is home to Russell and Horseshoe Falls and the Tall Trees walk. This is also an easy drive from Hobart, and even better the Cadbury factory is on the way. Russell Falls is very impressive. It is so tall you can’t see all of the falls from any one view point. 

Horseshoe Falls were on a much less grand scale, but still were quite beautiful.

Freycinet National Park

Freycinet National Park is on the east coast and there are many hikes that reveal gorgeous views of the coast line. Unfortunately, I made to to Freycinet in the middle of the afore mentioned rainstorm which would end up flooding half of Tasmania, so I didn’t spend nearly as much time here as I would have liked and my pictures look like “The Nothing” left the Neverending Story and moved on to Australia.

Mole Creek National Park

Mole Creek National Park is an easy drive from Launceston and is home to King Solomon and Mole Creek Caves. King Solomon Cave was closed due to flooding while I was there, but is supposed to be very impressive. I did get to see Mole Creek Cave which was pretty cool as well.

Narawntapu National Park

Narawntapu National Park is an easy drive from Launceston and is known as one of the best places to see a platypus as well as many other native Tasmanian animals in the wild – in fact, Tasmania Parks and Wildlife Service called it, “Serengeti of Tasmania”. Alas, I did not see a platypus or wombat, but I did see a pademelon (similar to a wallaby).

Cradle Mountain National Park

I was planning on spending my last day at Cradle Mountain before heading back to Launceston for my flight out, but all roads south to Cradle Mountain were flooded, so I didn’t make it there. You can see Cradle Mount from quite far away, and I’m really disappointed that I didn’t make it there.

Park Pass Costs (as of May 2011 – double check rates before you go):

1 Day Pass: A$20/car*, A$12/ person

8 Week Pass: A$60/car*, A$30/person

* Entry fee for a car covers up to 8 people

http://www.parks.tas.gov.au/index.aspx?base=914

~ by loveleeeee on May 7, 2011.

One Response to “Tasmania’s National Parks”

  1. […] still falling from the sky I decided I was going to hike up to the falls anyway. I had just hiked Russell and Horseshoe Falls in the rain and that was fine, so this would be too. I started out from Launceston and got more […]

What do you think?

 
